ASQ Section 0511 September 2022 Meeting Announcement

Wednesday, 14 September 2022

Community Matters - ASQ Divisions: Energy and Environmental Division (EED)

Presented by Ken Rapuano
ASQ Section 0511 Vice Chair and Compliance Officer

Ken Rapuano

Short Description:

ASQ Section 0511 is a community of quality professionals of Northern Virginia. But geography is not the only principle used by ASQ to organize communities. Topic and industry-specific communities are formed based on member interests. They are member-led communities that include divisions, forums, interest groups, and technical communities.

Ken Rapuano leads the Community Matters initiative that he introduced at the Section's August 2022 meeting. In the Community Matters initiative, we take a look, one by one, at the 27 divisions and other formations that ASQ has for topics and industries.

Ken has worked in the Health & Safety, Industrial Hygiene, and Environmental fields for 35 years. He is an IHMM-Certified Hazardous Materials Manager (CHMM) and a member of the Energy and Environmental Division (EED). In this meeting's Program, he will serve as a link between Section 0511 and some of the ideas and activities that EED concerns itself with.

This Program includes both the close look at the Energy and Environmental Division and Ken's own professional observations.

Program Content:

The Program will consist of the following:

Speaker Background:

Ken Rapuano is a Senior Chemist at HydroGeoLogic, Inc., a Reston-based environmental firm. He has been an IHMM-Certified Hazardous Materials Manager (CHMM) since 2010 and an ASQ-Certified Quality Auditor (CQA) since 2015.

His expertise includes analytical chemistry, data validation and usability assessments, and health and safety. He also supports database management and risk assessment.

Outside of work, he is still playing Dungeons and Dragons and has been known to take an occasional interest in beer brewing, history, sports, computer games, and cats.

Ken was elected as the Section 0511 Secretary for 2019-2021, then was elected as the Section Vice Chair for 2022.